Franklin aims to return to Thunder dugout for 2015

Tony Franklin hopes to return to the Thunder in 2015.

Tony Franklin hopes to return to the Thunder in 2015.

TRENTON – The winningest manager in Trenton Thunder history is hoping to return to the dugout at ARM & HAMMER Park in 2015.

Tony Franklin, 64, revealed to reporters on Saturday that he has feeling “much, much better this year” than he had in the past, and felt that retirement was still a long way down the road for him. Franklin owns a 609-519 record as the Thunder manager and has three Eastern League Championships under his belt.

“Everybody’s asking me when I’m going to retire,” Franklin told ten reporters gathered around his desk. “I don’t feel like I want to retire…I’m not going to retire.”

“In past years, I wasn’t feeling great, so I didn’t know whether I was going to be able to come back,” added Franklin. “I’m feeling good this year, and I’m looking forward to coming back if they have me.”

Franklin said that he has enjoyed spending the past eight seasons serving as the Thunder manager, and truly hopes the Yankees invite him back for a crack at a fourth Eastern League title.

“I hope [the Yankees] do invite me back,” Franklin said. “I do like working here. Always have liked working here, and I’m not anxious to go anyplace else right now.”

“I’m still capable of throwing batting practice and hitting fungoes and spending the hours on the field with the guys,” Franklin said as he discussed how much more active he has been this season.

Of course Franklin has left the door open to other gigs should they help him achieve his dream of spending time in a big league dugout – a dream that never got accomplished during his playing days despite ten professional seasons.

Despite Franklin’s desires to coach at the major league level, his calling may very well be to continue as the manager of the Thunder. His abilities to help develop talent have not gone unnoticed, as he recently earned praise from Yankees GM Brian Cashman for the job he’s done in Trenton. Since taking over the ball club in 2007, over 75 of his players have appeared in the big leagues, including this year’s Opening Day starter for the Thunder, Bryan Mitchell.

Folow Dan on Twitter at @danpfeiffer74 for all the latest Trenton Thunder coverage.

Leave a comment